“Believe in yourself, and the rest will fall into place. Have faith in your own abilities, work hard, and there is nothing you cannot accomplish.”

I remember when I held a tennis racket for the first time ever. Feeling awkward and shy, little did I know that it would shape my life and who I am in the years to come.

At the age of 11, I went through many different coaches. I canceled lessons very often. There were summer mornings where I slept in instead of going to practice, and my little brother was nice enough to sub in for me.

However, it all changed the year prior to high school. I decided to reevaluate and to improve myself so…I gave tennis another shot. I kept reminding myself, “You have to be open minded. You have to give things a try.” Every time I missed a ball or hit it completely off, I would take a deep breath and try again. In a short amount of time, I met so many new people who, along with my family, were very supportive; I saw their beliefs in me. All of the positive vibes I felt, motivated me to work harder than ever before. Tennis…it all of a sudden became something I loved, something I didn’t want to stop doing.

I told my mom “thank you”. Thank you for not forcing the passion into me. Thank you for allowing me to develop a passion on my own.

-Michelle

2 comments

  1. You go, girl! I think it’s wonderful that you found your own passion! (It’s wonderful to see everyone’s!) I’m still waiting for the day I find mine… Anyway, great post! I’ll be seeing you as a famous tennis player in a couple years, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

