Stumble Upon Kindness

It was a Thursday evening. My mom and I decided to stop by a place to get some food. Walking back to the car, I saw this girl on the sidewalk who looked  not very much older than me. She was carrying a baby that was probably her sister, asking for money. I didn’t know her story; I didn’t know where she lived or why she needed money but I gave her my bag of food and a few extra changes because she looked like she needed it more than I do. She said, “Thank you. God bless you” and it wasn’t the words that made me feel something. It was the sincere appreciation in her voice that lifted my spirit and enlarged the brightness of my day. They say “an act of kindness can go a long way” and at that moment, I felt like mine did.

-Michelle

Leave a Reply

