Cliche: Live in the Moment

20140123-042319.jpg

Warning: This is one of those “Carpe Diem” type of posts.

So, I came across that quote above ^ while I was scrolling down my tumblr feed. It caught my attention. It actually scared me at first. I thought, “Have I spent my life just ‘waiting’ for happiness?” That’s a scary thought. Why would anyone waste so much time like that? If you really thing about it, happiness is right in front of us all the time. It’s the warm feeling you get when your mom surprises you with a donut before school, or the satisfaction you get from that B- on a math test. It’s also that smile you give someone in the hallway. Happiness can be walking up to your coach after an exhausting practice, looking him/her in the eye and saying a sincere “thank you,” for making you stronger. Happiness can be found in anything, as long as you look hard enough. Happiness isn’t something you can just wait for. It doesn’t just poof out of nowhere. You’ve got to want it. Look for
it just as much as you want it. And most importantly: don’t ever settle. Don’t settle for just mediocracy. Make each day special. Seize the day. Carpe Diem.

….On a similar note, I found the above quote to be a bit bland visually, so in order to find my happiness, I made a new one!

20140123-044402.jpg
Original photo taken off the Huntington Beach pier by me 🙂

-Miriam

Leave a Reply

